With the IVAM Survey – our annual economic data survey among European companies and research institutes concerned with microtechnology and related key enabling technologies – we monitor the economic situation of the high-tech industries, identify trends and perspectives.  This page includes selected results and graphs from the IVAM survey as well as a summary of each survey’s complete results.

IVAM Survey 2019

02.04.2019 Microtechnology industry confident: positive economic development and market trends to continue In the microtechnology industry, the positive economic development of recent years continues: the majority of European companies have raised turnover and staff in 2018 and expect a further increase throughout the next few years. Forecasts of a weakening global economy, international trade conflicts and ...

Turnover and staff numbers in the microtechnology industry keep rising

01.04.2019 In the microtechnology industry, the positive economic development of recent years continues: the majority of European companies have raised turnover and staff in 2018 and expect a further increase throughout the next few years. More than 80 percent of European microtechnology companies expect sales to increase over the next three years, two-thirds of companies plan ...

China’s importance as trading partner is growing

31.03.2019 A steadily growing share of European microtechnology companies is aiming for China as a trading partner. Within the next three years, China is supposed to become the most important business region outside the European Union and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) for a fifth (20.3%) of companies. Currently, China is the major trading partner ...

Medical technology and healthcare benefit most from microtechnology

30.03.2019 The market that benefits most from developments, products and systems in the microtechnology industry today – the medical technology and healthcare industry – will keep its leading position in the foreseeable future. More than half of European microtechnology companies presently serve this market. For a fifth (20.1%) of companies, it is currently the most important ...

IVAM Survey 2019 – Brexit Special

26.03.2019 Brexit uncertainty dampens mood of European microtechnology industry The microtechnology industry in Europe expects virtually no positive impulses from Brexit, neither for the industry nor for individual businesses. Industry representatives assume mostly negative economic effects. The results of a survey conducted by IVAM shortly before the exit date more than anything else reflect the uncertainty ...

IVAM Survey 2018

05.04.2018 Positive developments in the European microtechnology industry that have become apparent in previous years continue this year, in some cases intensified. This has been confirmed by this year's economic data survey by the IVAM Microtechnology Network. These developments include a continued upswing in staff numbers and turnover and very good forecasts in both areas for ...

Skills shortage does not keep microtechnology industry from hiring

04.04.2018 Despite the acknowledged shortage of skilled workers in the STEM fields (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics), the number of employees in the microtechnology industry is steadily rising. In 2017, 63.3% of the companies in Europe involved with microtechnology have increased their workforce. This is a significantly higher proportion than in previous years. In last year’s ...

Microtechnology industry constantly increases turnover

03.04.2018 A continuously growing proportion of the European high-tech industry has been able to increase turnover over the past four years. In 2017, well over half (62%) of the surveyed microtechnology companies have increased their turnover. Medium-term expectations are also very positive: nearly 80% of companies expect their turnover to increase over the next three years. ...

Microtechnology industry’s export will increase

02.04.2018 The European microtechnology industry expects to significantly increase its export activity in the medium term: 63.3% of companies expect exports to increase over the next three years. In previous years, the increase in exports was comparatively modest. On average, 35-40% of companies achieved an increase in exports between 2014 and 2017. Nonetheless, microtechnology is an ...

Export and cooperation predominate in international activities

01.04.2018 In total, 85.5% of the European microtechnology companies export. Export is the prevalent way of acting on an international level in the microtechnology industry. Most companies that do not export (almost 15%) are suppliers of components whose customers export the final product. Research institutions are predominantly active at international level in the form of technological ...

Europe is main export region – China to become second most important export market

31.03.2018 The EU and EFTA region is and will continue to be the most important export region for the largest proportion of the European microtechnology companies. Currently, 40.5% of companies focus on exporting within Europe. This share is supposed to increase to 43% over the next three years. In the overseas export business, the US is ...

Significance of medical technology market unfailing

30.03.2018 The medical device and healthcare market is and remains the most important target market for the highest proportion of microtechnology companies: for 21% of companies, medical technology is currently the most important market – for 27.2% of companies, it will be the most important market in three years’ time. New impulses in medical technology and ...

EU regulations impede rather than facilitate business operations

29.03.2018 Only a small proportion of European microtechnology organizations appreciate how EU regulations facilitate trade and collaboration within the EU single market: only 14% say that EU regulations and directives partly have a facilitating effect on their business operations. More than half (58%) of the responding organizations feel that EU regulations and directives are impeding their ...

Microtechnology industry affected by a variety of EU regulations

28.03.2018 The European microtechnology industry covers a broad range of technology fields including micro components, MEMS, nanotechnology, advanced materials, and optical technologies. Consequently, the industry is affected by a variety of EU regulations and directives, such as RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous Substances), REACH (Registration Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals), or the Machinery Directive. Recently, regulations ...

EU regulations: Documentation and implementation overburden microtechnology industry

27.03.2018 A major complication from the point of view of the European microtechnology organizations are the high documentation and reporting obligations that EU regulations or directives entail. More than half (56.9%) of the companies and institutes say that the documentation and reporting obligations impede their business operations. Almost half (49.2%) of the organizations are challenged by ...

SMEs demand simplified EU regulations

26.03.2018 A clear majority of representatives of the European microtechnology industry thinks that EU regulations are too extensive and complex for small companies to be able to comply. Almost three quarters (72.3%) of microtechnology organizations call for simplified regulations for SMEs. 40.4% of microtechnology industry representatives say that a more homogeneous implementation in all EU countries ...

Mixed feeligns about delayed government formation in Germany

07.03.2018 Representatives of the microtechnology industry in Europe are partly concerned and partly relaxed about the impact the long government formation process in Germany after the elections in 2017 might have on the European Union. As part of its annual economic data survey, the IVAM Microtechnology Network has asked industry representatives whether they believe that the ...

IVAM Survey 2017

09.03.2017 In early 2017, growth forecasts in Europe’s microtechnology industry are distinctively positive. More than 80 percent of the companies expect to increase sales in the period from 2017 to 2019. The number of employees is also expected to rise in more than three-quarters of the companies. However, securing skilled workforce remains a challenge for more ...

Europe's microtechnology industry signals growth

08.03.2017 In early 2017, growth forecasts in Europe’s microtechnology industry are distinctively positive. More than 80 percent of the companies expect to increase sales in the period from 2017 to 2019. The number of employees is also expected to rise in more than three-quarters of the companies. However, securing skilled workforce remains a challenge for more ...

China expected to outrank the USA as major overseas mark

07.03.2017 Trade in European microtechnology products still predominantly takes place within Europe. The EU and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) are the most important sales and export regions for more than half of the European companies.   The USA is the most important overseas market, still. This is likely to change over the next three ...

Mit der IVAM-Befragung – unserer jährlichen Wirtschaftsdatenerhebung unter Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen der Mikrotechnik und verwandter Schlüsseltechnologien in Europa – beobachten wir die wirtschaftlichen Lage der Branche, ermitteln Trends und Perspektiven. Ausgewählte Ergebnisse und Grafiken aus der IVAM-Befragung und eine Zusammenfassungen der Ergebnisse jeder Befragung haben wir hier zusammengestellt.

IVAM-Befragung 2019

02.04.2019 Mikrotechnikbranche bleibt optimistisch: positive wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und Markttrends sollen sich fortsetzen In der Mikrotechnikbranche setzt sich die positive wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der vergangenen Jahre weiter fort: Umsatz und Mitarbeiterzahlen haben sich 2018 bei einem Großteil der europäischen Unternehmen erhöht und sollen in diesem und den folgenden zwei Jahren weiter steigen. Prognosen für eine sich abschwächende Weltwirtschaft, ...

Umsatz und Mitarbeiterzahlen in der Mikrotechnikindustrie steigen weiter

01.04.2019 In der Mikrotechnikbranche setzt sich die positive wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der vergangenen Jahre weiter fort: Umsatz und Mitarbeiterzahlen sollen in diesem und den folgenden zwei Jahren weiter steigen. Über 80 Prozent der europäischen Mikrotechnik-Unternehmen rechnen damit, dass sie in den nächsten drei Jahren den Umsatz steigern werden, zwei Drittel der Unternehmen planen, im selben Zeitraum neue ...

China wird als Handelspartner immer wichtiger

31.03.2019 Ein stetig wachsender Anteil der europäischen Mikrotechnik-Unternehmen hat es auf China als Handelspartner abgesehen. China soll innerhalb der nächsten drei Jahre für ein Fünftel (20,3%) der Unternehmen die wichtigste Geschäftsregion außerhalb der Europäischen Union und der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) werden. Momentan ist China für ein Achtel (12,5%) der Unternehmen der wichtigste Handelspartner und liegt noch ...

Medizintechnik und Gesundheitswirtschaft profitieren am stärksten von der Mikrotechnik

30.03.2019 Der Markt, der am stärksten von Entwicklungen, Produkten und Systemen der Mikrotechnikindustrie profitiert, wird auch in der absehbaren Zukunft die Medizintechnik und Gesundheitswirtschaft bleiben. Mehr als die Hälfte der europäischen Mikrotechnik-Unternehmen bedient diesen Markt heute. Für ein Fünftel (20,1%) der Unternehmen ist es derzeit der wichtigste Zielmarkt – weitere drei Prozent wollen Medizin und Gesundheit ...

IVAM-Befragung 2019 – Sonderteil Brexit

26.03.2019 Brexit-Unsicherheit drückt die Stimmung der europäischen Mikrotechnik-Branche Die Mikrotechnik-Branche in Europa erwartet vom Brexit so gut wie keine positiven Impulse für die Industrie und für das eigene Geschäft. Industrievertreter schätzen die wirtschaftlichen Folgen überwiegend negativ ein. Die Ergebnisse einer Branchenbefragung kurz vor dem Austrittsdatum spiegeln vor allem die Unsicherheit darüber wieder, wie es mit den ...

IVAM-Befragung 2018

05.04.2018 Positive Entwicklungen der europäischen Mikrotechnikbranche, die sich in den Vorjahren abzeichneten, setzen sich in diesem Jahr, zum Teil verstärkt, fort. Dies hat die diesjährige Datenerhebung des IVAM Fachverband für Mikrotechnik bestätigt. Dazu zählen ein fortgesetzter Aufwärtstrend bei Mitarbeiterzahlen und Umsätzen sowie ausgesprochen gute Prognosen in beiden Bereichen für die kommenden drei Jahre. Der Export, der ...

Mikrotechnikbranche stellt ein, trotz Fachkräftemangel

04.04.2018 Trotz des Fachkräftemangels in den MINT-Berufen (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik) steigen die Beschäftigtenzahlen in der Mikrotechnik-Industrie stetig. Im Jahr 2017 haben 63,3% der Unternehmen ihre Mitarbeiterzahlen erhöhen können. Dies ist ein deutlich höherer Anteil als in den Vorjahren. Noch im vergangenen Jahr wurde die Sicherung ausreichender Fachkräfte von den Unternehmen als eine der größten ...

Umsatz der Mikrotechnikindustrie steigt kontinuierlich

03.04.2018 Ein kontinuierlich wachsender Anteil der europäischen Mikrotechnikunternehmen konnte in den vergangenen vier Jahren den Umsatz steigern. Im Jahr 2017 haben weit über die Hälfte (62%) der Unternehmen beim Umsatz zugelegt. Die mittelfristigen Erwartungen an die Umsatzentwicklung sind ebenfalls sehr positiv: Fast 80% der Unternehmen erwarten, dass ihre Umsätze in den nächsten drei Jahren steigen werden. ...

Export der Mikrotechnikindustrie wird zunehmen

02.04.2018 Die europäische Mikrotechnikindustrie geht davon aus, dass sie ihre Exportaktivität mittelfristig deutlich steigern wird: 63,3% der Unternehmen erwarten, dass der Export in den nächsten drei Jahren zunehmen wird. In den Vorjahren war der Anstieg der Exporte vergleichsweise verhalten ausgefallen. Durchschnittlich 35-40% der Unternehmen erreichten zwischen 2014 und 2017 eine Zunahme beim Export. Nichtsdestotrotz ist die ...

Export und Kooperation überwiegen bei internationalen Aktivitäten

01.04.2018 Insgesamt 85,5% der europäischen Mikrotechnikunternehmen exportieren. Export ist die am häufigsten gewählte Weise, in der die Unternehmen international aktiv sind. Unter den knapp 15% der Unternehmen, die nicht exportieren, befinden sich viele Zulieferer, deren Kunden aber das Endprodukt exportieren. Forschungseinrichtungen sind auf internationaler Ebene überwiegend in Form von technologischen Kooperationen und Verbundprojekten aktiv: 89,7% der ...

Europa Hauptexportregion – China soll zweitwichtigster Exportmarkt werden

31.03.2018 Die EU und die EFTA-Staaten sind und bleiben für den größten Anteil der europäischen Mikrotechnikunternehmen die wichtigste Exportregion. Momentan sind es 40,5% der Unternehmen, die ihren Export auf Europa konzentrieren. Dieser Anteil soll in den nächsten drei Jahren auf 43% steigen. Beim-Übersee-Exportgeschäft liegen die USA heute noch vorn, sie sind für knapp ein Viertel (24,1%) ...

Medizintechnikmarkt behält hohen Stellenwert

30.03.2018 Der Medizintechnik- und Gesundheitsmarkt ist und bleibt der wichtigste Zielmarkt für den größten Anteil der Unternehmen der Mikrotechnikbranche: Für 21% der Unternehmen ist die Medizintechnik derzeit der wichtigste Markt – in drei Jahren soll es für 27,2% der Unternehmen der wichtigste Markt sein. Neue Impulse in der Medizintechnik und Gesundheitsversorgung schafft die Kombination von Miniaturisierung ...

EU-Vorschriften behindern Geschäftsabläufe, statt sie zu erleichtern

29.03.2018 Nur ein kleiner Teil der europäischen Mikrotechnik-Organisationen erkennt es als erleichternd an, dass EU-Vorschriften den Handel und die Zusammenarbeit innerhalb des EU-Binnenmarktes erleichtern: Nur 14% sagen, dass EU-Verordnungen und -Richtlinien sich unterschiedlich auf Geschäftsabläufe auswirken, also teilweise auch eine Erleichterung darstellen. Mehr als die Hälfte (58%) der Organisationen geben an, dass sich EU-Verordnungen und Richtlinien ...

Mikrotechnikindustrie von einer Vielzahl von EU-Vorschriften betroffen

28.03.2018 Die europäische Mikrotechnikindustrie umfasst eine breite Palette von Technologiefeldern wie Mikrokomponenten, MEMS, Nanotechnologie, neue Materialien und optische Technologien. Folglich ist die Industrie von einer Vielzahl von EU-Verordnungen und -Richtlinien wie RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous Substances), REACH (Registration Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals) oder der Maschinenrichtlinie betroffen. In jüngster Zeit sind Regelungen, die für Gerätehersteller ...

EU-Vorschriften: Dokumentation und Implementierung überlasten die Mikrotechnikindustrie

27.03.2018 Eine wesentliche Belastung verursachen aus Sicht der europäischen Mikrotechnik-Organisationen die umfangreichen Dokumentations- und Berichtspflichten, die EU-Verordnungen und ‑Richtlinien mit sich bringen. Mehr als die Hälfte (56,9%) der Unternehmen und Institute fühlt sich von den Dokumentations- und Berichtspflichten in den Geschäftsabläufen behindert. Fast die Hälfte (49,2%) der Organisationen hat den Eindruck, dass die Umsetzung spezifische Qualifikationen ...

KMU fordern vereinfachte EU-Regelungen

26.03.2018   Eine deutliche Mehrheit der Vertreter der europäischen Mikrotechnikbranche ist der Ansicht, dass EU-Vorschriften für kleine Unternehmen zu umfangreich und komplex sind. Fast drei Viertel (72,3%) der Mikrotechnikorganisationen fordern deshalb vereinfachte Regelungen für KMU. 40,4% der Vertreter der Mikrotechnikbranche sind der Meinung, dass eine einheitlichere Umsetzung in allen EU-Ländern erforderlich ist. Jeweils rund ein Drittel ...

Gemischte Gefühle bezüglich langer Regierungsbildung in Deutschland

07.03.2018 Vertreter der Mikrotechnikbranche in Europa beurteilen die Auswirkung der langen Regierungsbildung in Deutschland nach der Bundestagswahl 2017 auf die Europäische Union zum Teil kritisch, zum Teil entspannt. Im Zuge seiner jährlichen Erhebung der Wirtschaftsdaten hat der IVAM Fachverband für Mikrotechnik die Branchenvertreter gefragt, ob die verzögerte Regierungsbildung ihrer Meinung nach der EU schade. 45 Prozent ...

IVAM-Befragung 2017

09.03.2017 In Europas Mikrotechnikbranche sind Anfang 2017 die Wachstumserwartungen für die kommenden drei Jahre ausgesprochen positiv. Über achtzig Prozent der Unternehmen erwarten im Zeitraum 2017 bis 2019 ein Umsatzwachstum. Auch die Mitarbeiterzahlen sollen bei mehr als drei Vierteln der Unternehmen steigen. Anlass zu diesem Optimismus dürften die guten Wachstumsquoten in den letzten vier Jahren gegeben haben: ...

Europas Mikrotechnikbranche signalisiert Wachstum

08.03.2017 In Europas Mikrotechnikbranche sind Anfang 2017 die Wachstumserwartungen für die kommenden drei Jahre ausgesprochen positiv. Über achtzig Prozent der Unternehmen erwarten im Zeitraum 2017 bis 2019 ein Umsatzwachstum. Auch die Mitarbeiterzahlen sollen bei mehr als drei Vierteln der Unternehmen steigen.   Anlass zu diesem Optimismus dürften die guten Wachstumsquoten in den letzten vier Jahren gegeben ...

China soll USA als wichtigsten Überseemarkt überholen

07.03.2017 Der Handel mit europäischen Mikrotechnikprodukten spielt sich weiterhin überwiegend innerhalb Europas ab. Die EU und die Europäische Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) sind für über die Hälfte der Unternehmen die wichtigsten Absatzregionen.   Der wichtigste Überseemarkt ist momentan noch die USA. Dies soll sich im Lauf der nächsten drei Jahre ändern: In diesem Zeitraum soll China – derzeit ...