The IVAM Focus Group Wearable Electronics is mainly geared to electronically enhanced textiles (including wearables based on textiles, geotextiles, and construction textiles), but it also includes other unconventional and conventional substrate materials.

There is a special potential given with the integration of sensors in textiles because this enables e.g. the wireless connectivity at one’s body. Costs and sustainability are probably still the biggest challenges for the acceptance and future of smart textiles or wearables. The IVAM Focus Group will also deal with topics like data management, energy supply and functional reliability of systems. There is especially need for research in the fields of interfaces, robustness, miniaturization and power supply of wearables.

Chairperson:
Erik Jung, Business Development Unit, Fraunhofer IZM

IVAM members can log in to their member accounts to read and to download all documents of the Focus Group. Focus Group participants who are not  members of IVAM can contact wearables@ivam.de to get information.

Downloads

Die IVAM Fachgruppe Wearable Electronics ist im Wesentlichen auf elektronisch aufgewertete Textilien (incl. Textilbasierte Wearables, Geotextilien, Bautextilien) ausgerichtet, schließt aber auch andere unkonventionelle und konventionelle Substratmaterialien mit ein.

Besonderes Potenzial liegt in der Integration von Sensorik in Textilien, denn diese ermöglicht beispielsweise die drahtlose Konnektivität am Körper. Die größten Herausforderungen für die Akzeptanz und Zukunft der „smarten Textilien“ bzw. Wearables bleiben wohl die Kosten sowie die Nachhaltigkeit. Die IVAM Fachgruppe wird sich außerdem Themen wie Datenmanagement, Energieversorgung und Funktionssicherheit der Systeme widmen. Hier liegt der Forschungsbedarf vor allem auf dem Gebiet der Schnittstellen, Robustheit, Miniaturisierung und Stromversorgung der Wearables.
 
Leitung der IVAM Fachgruppe: 
Erik Jung, Business Development Unit, Fraunhofer IZM, Berlin

IVAM-Mitglieder können mittels Ihrer Login-Daten alle Dokumente der IVAM Fachgruppe einsehen und herunterladen. Teilnehmer der Fachgruppe, die kein IVAM-Mitglied, sind, können die Informationen unter wearables@ivam.de anfordern.

Downloads